User Tools

Site Tools


en:services:vd:hinweise

Remarks

Use Order

The „Use Order for IT-Resources of the Jade University“ also unrestrictedly applies to the VDI environment in the particularly valid version.

Operation System: Apple OS X

  • Right mouse button: Activate the „secondary click“ on your Apple Mac OS X device under System Settings / Mouse. This way, you will be able to use the right mouse button, which is necessary for the use of Windows, when you are logged into the virtual desktop.

Operation System: Microsoft Windows 7

  • Fonts: In case you find the display within your virtual desktop is only poorly legible, you can adjust it under Start / System Settings (Symbol View) / Display / ClearType-Text.

Error Prompt: All available desktop sources ... are currently used to capacity

The notification “Alle verfügbaren Desktop-Quellen für diesen Desktop sind derzeit ausgelastet. …” (ENG: „All available desktop sources for this desktop are currently used to capacity.“) is not really an error prompt. It solely points out that all provided virtual desktops of this pool are occupied. This is comparable to a PC-room in which all work places are taken. As a workaround you could try using a virtual desktop of another pool.

Integration of Local Drives

When using the VMware Client, you can connect drives (USB-sticks), which are locally connected to your computer, with your virtual desktop. To do so, move your cursor to the upper right corner of your screen, after you have already logged into the virtual desktop. The VMware Horizon Client menu will open up. Here you can connect your locally connected drives with virtual machines. Please do not forget to deactivate the connection to your local devices in advance of the disjunction of the virtual desktop.

Use out of External Business Network

If you want to access the virtual desktops when being active in an external business network, the TCP-ports 4172, 9427 and 32111 (In / Out) need to be opened. If necessary, approach the system administrator of the business.

Updates

Just like standard PC-hardware, virtual desktop environments require regularly executed updates, which need a restart. This is the reason why the users of virtual desktops are automatically logged out after certain time periods:

  • When using personally assigned desktops: 24h after the last disjunction
  • When using public virtual desktops: 2h after the last disjunction

Remarks for users with two screens: When you have been logged out of your virtual desktop due to the updates described above, you will see only one screen in operation, after logging in again. In this case, you will need to disjoint once again from your desktop (do not log out) and log in after that.

Availability

For the instigation of virtual desktop environments, the university computing centre reserves the right to adjust and change the respective equipment according to the needs at any time. As long as you follow the indications regarding data management made above, this will not end in restrictions, because software is provided centrally when setting up a new virtual desktop and you only save your data on the drives of the network system of computers.